Momo Kodama

Thursday 01 April - 20h30
Inlive Stream from Aix-en-Provence
Édition 2021

Twenty short pieces imbued with mysticism and sensuality.

Pianist Momo Kodama’s “subtle and poetic” playing according to Le Figaro, has made her one of the world’s most in-demand classical musicians.

She is Renaud Capuçon’s chamber music partner but this Easter Festival, she will be performing solo with a recital of Olivier Messiaen’s 1944 work Vingt Regards sur l’Enfant Jésus, written not long after he returned from a prisoner camp.

It is made up of twenty short pieces and was made famous by Roger Muraro’s remarkable performances. Imbued with mysticism and sensuality, the pieces express the ecstasy of the true believer through pure poetry. The style is very much the composer’s own, blending tradition and modernity, highlighting dizzy rhythms, new scales and sounds, with light references to Georgian liturgy and birdsong.

Momo Kodama, piano

Olivier Messiaen
Vingt Regards sur l'Enfant Jésus

Share :