Martha Argerich & Lahav Shani

Prokofiev, Rachmaninov, Ravel
Friday 14 April - 20h30
Grand Théâtre de Provence
Edition 2023
© Caroline Doutre

Martha Argerich, the iconic pianist, has returned to the Easter Festival almost every year since its inception. This year, she will share the stage with Lahav Shani, a simply prodigious pianist and conductor, for an exceptional two-piano recital.

Working as a team, the sparks of their shared genius pop off the stage.

Rachmaninov’s romantically rich Sonata for Two Pianos is a walk in the park for them as is the silky texture of Ravel’s La Valse, not to mention the so called “Classical” Symphony No. 1 by a young Prokofiev, who wrote this amusing tribute to Bach and Haydn in 1917, mischievously arranged for this performance by two pianos!

Martha Argerich,
Lahav Shani,

Sergueï Prokofiev (1891-1953)
Symphony No. 1 in D major, Op. 25

Sergueï Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
Suite No.2 For 2 Pianos, Op.17

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
Ma mère l’Oye (Mother Goose)
La Valse

Share :