Carte blanche à Renaud Capuçon


For the closing concert of this, the eleventh edition of the Easter Festival, Renaud Capuçon has invited a quartet of young performers for an intrepid exploration of the work of Hans Schubert.

Composed in 1819, the Piano Quintet in A major, D. 667 only really became known after the composer’s death. It was given the nickname “The Trout Quintet” for its famed fourth movement that repeats the melody of the same name by Schubert to which he added some brilliant and poetic variations. At the other end of his short life, we find the Piano Trio n°2 (1828), the second melancholic movement of which is familiar to film fans from Stanley Kubrick’s Barry Lyndon. Both pieces stand out thanks to the fluidity of their melancholic lines and the“liquid” accompaniment of the piano, using an innovative technique of arpeggios that was to hugely influence the next generation of composers.

Renaud Capuçon, violin
Paul Zientara, viola
Julia Hagen, cello
Lorraine Campet, bass
Mao Fujita, piano

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Piano Trio in E-flat major n°2, D. 929
Quintet for Piano and Violin, Viola, Violoncello and Contrabass, D. 667 « Trout Quintet»

Share :