Orchestre de Paris

Yuja Wang & Klaus Mäkelä
Saturday 15 April - 20h30
Grand Théâtre de Provence
Edition 2023
© Marco Borggreve & Caroline Doutre

After a triumphant recital in 2022, pianist Yuja Wang returns to the Easter Festival with a concerto specially written for her by the Finnish composer Magnus Lindberg.

A master of orchestral textures, he has written a virtuoso piece, where, from time to time, we get the scent of romance through the clarity of modern writing. Helmed by the young Finnish conducting prodigy Klaus Mäkelä, the Orchestre de Paris proposes a grandiose version of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6, also known as the “Pathétique Symphony”, as a counterpoint.

This symphony expresses the emotions and troubled passions of the tormented composer through music. His feelings of confusion and inescapable pain, are interspersed with moments of religious ecstasy, in an illustrious piece that the composer initially referred to as “tragic”.

Orchestre de Paris
Klaus Mäkelä,

Yuja Wang, piano

Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
Valse triste op.44 n°1

Magnus Lindberg (born in 1958)
Piano concerto (commissioned by China National
Centre for the Performing Arts, San Francisco and Toronto symphony orchestras, Orchestre de Paris and Orchester der NDR Elbphilharmonie)

Piotr Ilitch Tchaïkovski (1840-1893)

  • Symphony No. 6 in B minor,* « Pathétique » Op. 74
Share :