Gil Shaham, Gerhard Oppitz

Brahms, Chostakovitch
Monday 01 April - 18h00
Théâtre du Jeu de Paume

In the secluded surroundings of the Jeu de Paume theatre, Brahms meets Shostakovich in a brilliant, intimate chamber music recital.

Almost a century separates Brahms’ lyrical and generous Violin Sonata n°1 in G major (1879) from the irony and sublime seriousness of Shostakovich’s Violin Sonata (1968), written by the Russian composer while under the yoke of Soviet tyranny. Violinist Gil Shaham’s “elegant, profound and subtle style” (France Musique) matches perfectly with German piano titan Gerhard Oppitz’s light hands and utter precision. A remarkable journey through time awaits all fans of chamber music!

Gil Shaham, violin
Gerhard Oppitz, piano

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Violin Sonata n°1 in G major, op. 78

Dmitri Shostakovitch (1906-1975)
Violin Sonata, op. 134

Share :