Concert
Sunday 28 March - 19h00
Grand Théâtre de Provence

Renaud Capuçon & WDR Sinfonieorchester

Haydn, Korngold and Brahms

WDR Sinfonieorchester
Cristian Măcelaru
, conductor

Renaud Capuçon, violin


Joseph Haydn
Symphony No. 2 in C major

Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Violin Concerto in D major

Johannes Brahms
Piano Quartet No. 1 in G minor (orchestrated by Arnold Schoenberg)

Share :

A rising star in the world of international conductors.

At the age of forty, Romanian conductor Cristian Măcelaru is a rising star in the world of international conductors. Recently appointed to the head of the Orchestre national de France, he is also musical director at the WDR Symphony Orchestra in Cologne.

His reputation as a Viennese repertoire expert is more than justified, from Haydn’s 2nd Symphony, to the elegant twists of Italian baroque, to the symphonic version of Brahms’ brilliant Piano Quartet, superbly orchestrated by Schoenberg.

Renaud Capuçon will lead us off the beaten track with one of his favourite pieces : Korngold’s Violin Concerto, a piece that exudes romanticism, inspired by the film soundtracks Korngold composed in Hollywood for films such as Robin Hood and Captain Blood.

00:00

Concert
dimanche 28 mars - 19h00
Grand Théâtre de Provence

Renaud Capuçon & WDR Sinfonieorchester

Haydn, Korngold et Brahms

WDR Sinfonieorchester
Cristian Măcelaru
, direction

Renaud Capuçon, violon


Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)
Symphonie n° 2 en do majeur, Hob. I:2

Erich Wolfgang Korngold (1897-1957)
Concerto pour violon en ré majeur, op. 35

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Quatuor pour piano et cordes n° 1 en sol mineur, op. 25 (orchestration Arnold Schönberg)

Partager :

Une valeur montante dans le monde des chefs internationaux.

À quarante ans, le Roumain Cristian Măcelaru est une valeur montante dans le monde des chefs internationaux. Tout juste nommé à la tête de l’Orchestre national de France, il vient avec l’Orchestre de la WDR de Cologne, dont il est directeur musical.

Il a construit sa réputation de fin connaisseur du grand répertoire viennois, de la Symphonie n° 2 de Haydn, aux tournures élégantes marquées par le baroque italien, à la version symphonique du brillant Quatuor avec piano de Brahms, superbement orchestrée par Schönberg.

Loin des sentiers battus, Renaud Capuçon nous conduit vers l’une de ses œuvres fétiches : le Concerto pour violon de Korngold. Inspirée des musiques de film que ce musicien juif émigré aux États-Unis composa pour Hollywood (Robin des Bois, Capitaine Blood), cette partition d’un romantisme lumineux rayonne de mille feux.

00:00